Song stuck in my head of the week

Aleks Syntek y la Gente Normal’s “El Camino.”

Still to this day my favorite song of his. I gotta say, I like a lot better his early stuff. This one must’ve come out between ’92 and ’94. I know it was just the musical style of the day, but I really like how pop was a lot more rocking in the early 90s (think of bands like The Cranberries). I’m sure the music he’s doing (and many other active pop artists) is likely about as good if not better, from  some kind of unbiased perspective,  than the flavor of pop that tended to come out in the early 90s; but this is stylistically much more appealing to me. Yeah, I know, you can take a man out of the nineties…

Also, every time I am in Mexico and I happen to listen to “new” pop stuff coming out, it just sounds like overproduced plastic shit to me. The anglo situation isn’t that much better as far as I’m concerned, either. Personal mostly subjective taste, again.

So yeah, can’t get it out of my head.

P.S. I don’t like using the word dated here, becuase it sounds to me like it implies it looks shitty nowdays. Still, I think the videos from that period of time have a very particular look and style. I’m sure my non-mexican friends would’ve been able to deduce that video was probably from somewhere between 1990 and 1995 even with the sound off. I also happen to dig early 90s videos. Yeah, I’m a goddamn walking aging cliche. I’m not particularly proud of this, no.

Leave a Reply

