Turncloak

suse_vs_ubuntuI’ve long had both feet firmly planted on the openSuSE camp when it comes to the distro wars. Same for KDE in the KDE Vs Gnome (and now xfce and others) one. Gnome feels way to limited as far as configuration. Also, I’m more used to the KDE GUI, not to mention that I consistently prefer its apps over Gnome’s: Amarok over Rythmbox/Banshee, Kaffeine over Totem, Kopete over Pidgin, K3B over Brasero, the list goes on and on.

I also like Ubuntu. I have used Ubuntu. I know there is Kubuntu, too. I love synaptics/apt-get, I really do. Though I gotta say openSuSE’s zypper is really great as well, ridiculously better than the old  YUM crap that everybody hated. I don’t have anything against Ubuntu or its many users, and I think it’s a pretty solid Gnome distro (I haven’t used Kubuntu much, I get the impression it’s far less polished than vanilla Ubuntu).

But I’m still an openSuSE+KDE kinda guy. I have warmed up to KDE 4.x. Yes, it was utter shit when it came out, but it’s come a long way, and it is very usable, if still annoying. Even when there’s still lots of 3.x stuff in it (don’t you dare mention the tragedy that is the complete unusability of the 3.x performance monitor and the lack of a 4.x version, wtf KDE?) and other compatibility and/or 4.x app issues (amarok 2, a KDE4 app, is pretty awful, if you ask me, I’m still using 1.4 -a KDE 3.5 app-). I have grown to like my openSuSE 11.1 KDE 4.2 desktop.

But lately the system feels slow. Flash on web browsers (definitely Firefox, not as bad but still a problem in Opera) has way too many hiccups on embedded media players. I prefer watching videos over slideshows. I don’t know, my computer feels much lighter and quick on WinXP. And that just ain’t right.

So I’m thinking of ditching my openSuSE KDE install. Maybe I’ll try openSuSE with Gnome, but I have a feeling it won’t be much different. Also, I’d rather stick with KDE. So I’m thinking Kubuntu. But I can’t shake the notion that Kubuntu is noticeably rougher around the edges (compared to the very polished openSuSE and Ubuntu-Gnome). So I’m thinking going plain Ubuntu. But goddamn, I really don’t wanna use Ryhtmox. Or Pidgin. Or Godawful Totem. I know I can install KDE apps, but I like the idea of a self contained Desktop Environment (Gnome/KDE). I’m also not crazy about the system configuration apps in Ubuntu. But I just hate having my Linux partition run this noticeably slow, compared to my XP install.

I’ve tried Ubuntu before, but I came back to openSuSE (well, technically I had them both on separate partitions, but still). Maybe this slowness is what I needed to give Ubuntu a real shot.

But I really can’t stand Totem and Pidgin. And don’t you dare suggest aMSN. That looks like VisualBasic Freeware shit from Tucows circa 1995.

Damnit. I suppose I’ll start backing up files in my SuSE partition soon.

2 Responses

  1. Ubuntu and SuSE are good but, you know, there’s always Slackware if you want a fast and stable disrto that stays that way and has KDE.

  2. I’ve never tried it, but I feel some of my issues are inherent to KDE 4.x. At least, the most annoying ones.

    If I just can’t adapt to Ubuntu, I’ll sure give it a try. Thanks for the tip!

    For now, I go install.

Leave a Reply

