I’m back, bitches!

I am back in Long Island after a rather excellent holiday break in Monterrey, Mexico.

First things first: Music! I try to buy a couple CDs everytime I go to Monterrey. Latin Rock, stuff I can’t easily find here. I haven’t really been keeping up with new acts coming out of Mexico and Latin America, and from what I hear, bands in the 90s were doing better stuff. I guess I’m getting old.

There’s one relatively new band (first album came out ~2001) that I really like. Zoé, from Mexico. I already had their first album (Eponymous), which is pretty awesome. This time, I knew they had just released a new one, but when I went to the record store I saw their second album (Rockanlover), which has a song I love, and bought it. Fittingly enough, the song’s name is Love (yes, Love, in english). Here’s the vid of this mexican beatlesque poppy goodness:

I usually don’t like the tendency in latin music (in general) to always have some esoteric flavor in the lyrics. I guess I’m just tired of it. Still, this part just works for me:

y ahora estoy perdido aqui, en mañanas con tres soles,

y multiples visiones, montañas transparentes,

anémonas de luz, partículas de amor y recuerdos de ti,

Love, love, love.

and now I’m lost in here, with three sun mornings,

multiple visions, transparent hills,

anemones of light, love particles, and memories of you,

Love, love, love.

The other CD I bought was Soda Stereo’s “Sueño Estereo” released back in the mid-nineties. It kicks ass. Here’s “Ella uso mi cabeza como un revolver” (She used my head as a revolver), the opening track:

Edit: If you were wondering, yes that is a Theremin on the second verse of ‘Love.’ Are they badass or what?

2 Responses

  1. How are you doing? I wanted to see how I could submit some music to you. I formed a grou Making Movies that does all their music in English and Spanish. The band is making some waves around the midwest, playing at events along side Cafe Tacuba and Pastilla. I would love for you to check out the music as the band creates songs inspired by the rich history in the native land of Panama.

    http://www.makingmoviesband.com
    http://www.myspace.com/makingmovies

    Enrique

  2. Who are you calling a “bitch?”

Leave a Reply

