Goddamn you, Wilco

I was supposed to be in bed an hour ago.

First I went to the Wilco website out of curiosity, just to see if there’s any news, and of course I find out they are out on tour and will be playing two nights at Madison Square Garden. A concert I am not likely to attend because tickets are way expensive ($60 plus stupid Ticketmaster charges for nosebleed?) and I can’t think of anybody here that may want to go besides me. Damn you, concert gods. On top of it, it’s really a Neal Young concert, for which WIlco and some other band are opening for, so I’d be paying that much money to see them for an hour. I know, I know, Neal Young is awesome. I’ve never got enough into his stuff to make me want to pay that much money, or sit through a 2 hour concert (and for that money, he better be playing two hours).

Disillusioned, but hardly surprised given my personal concert history, I keep looking around their website. Turns out they got some cool “green” (DFHs!) T-shirts, and I make mental notes to check them again when I wouldn’t feel bad to buy t-shirts I don’t quite need. Not bad.

Next, I check their “News” page and I immediately see two awesome items: 1)They are gonna be on the Colbert Report tomorrow (Thursday) night, and b)They are giving away a song for free in exchange for a pledge to vote in the coming presidential elections. Color me intrigued. I fill out my info, and pledge that I will vote, and seconds later I have it on my email inbox. The song is a live recording of Wilco with Fleet Foxes (hadn’t heard of them myself) of the Bob Dylan/The Band song “I shall be released.” I hadn’t heard this song in a while, and I gotta say their version kicks major ass. If you needed one last push to be certain you are voting in the coming elections (and you certainly should if you’re an elegible voter!), I can’t think of a better deal-sweetener.

In case you can’t wait, here’s a youtube of Wilco+Fleet Foxes singing that song live.

Over a half dozen listens later, I really think I should try going to bed. Curse you, you well-meaning bastards.

Okay, one last time. Then I go to bed.

Go below the fold for a youtube of The Band + Bob Dylan + Friends (including Ringo Starr and Ron Wood) playing the song. It is real good.

One Response

  1. If AG were in your bed.

    Oh nevermind. We all know what AG is going to say…

Leave a Reply

