Badass of the Day: Ted Kennedy.

Bastard kicked Brain Cancer in the balls, and showed up at the Convention to give an amazing speech*.

I am of the idea that the well-being of the populace is the main raison d’etre of any government. I also find it criminal that the wealthiest country in the world still does not provide universal health care. It is truly boggling and maddening.

So I was really, really happy to hear Sen. Kennedy talk about Health Care being his new crusade. This is one tough bastard that doesn’t back down until the bill passes. I was already feeling positive that soon the country will have a non-thirdworld health insurance system. Now I feel confident. Go Ted Kennedy!

It is a shame that there are very few Senators out there with the values, vision, tenacity, balls, and smarts of Ted Kennedy. The country would be in a far better place.

*Tip o’ the hat to Falconesse for the link. I sadly missed it yesterday on the Teevee.

EDIT- Oh lookie! There is a youtube that includes the introduction given by Caroline Kennedy, and the video Tribute to Senator Kennedy.

4 Responses

  1. I am goddamned proud that he’s my senator. And not just in the way Caroline (who I also think is a squillion kinds of awesome) meant it in her introduction – he really is my senator.

  2. I have no use for the man politically or personally (as always, Mary Jo Kopechne was unavailable for comment). But to come back and give a speech like that shows that he really is a tough one. I’m glad to see him up and around and doing well.

  3. Goddamn. I just found out he delivered the speech with kidney stones, that kept him from sleeping the night before and in pain throughout the morning.

  4. OK. That’s balls right there. I’ll reach across the aisle and shake his hand for that one. And it was a good speech, too, he didn’t phone it in.

Leave a Reply

