I love apple pie.

Delicious

Delicious

I really, really do. I have a pretty decent recipe for pie, I’ve done it a few times. It’s nothing special, pretty standard. But then again, you really can’t go wrong with apple pie. Apples + Sugar + Cinammon = Delicious. The proof for this theorem exists, and is left as an exercize to the reader.

Tomorrow I’m going to try something a bit different. Tomorrow I’ll try to bake an Apple Tarte Tartin. We’ll see how it goes.

Sometime this summer (probably some weekend morning) I found myself channel surfing, and came across Take Home Chef. It’s an interesting twist on cooking shows and reality TV. Take a chef, and have him offer his services to random ladies at a grocery store. The idea is to cook a nice surprise dinner for a friend/significant other at the lady’s place. He will ask them what is their favorite foods and come up with a menu. Then they show him cooking, with the help of the lucky woman, and it ends with the actual eating of the food.

The show I watched, the woman said her husband loves his mom’s apple pie and that she’d never been able to recreate it. So Curtis Stone (the chef) offered to share his recipe for “The Best Upside-Down Apple Tart,” which he boasted about quite a bit. I was intrigued. It was an interesting preparation, though they don’t really show you all the steps nor give you the actual recipe in the show, but they tell you they are all online, which is fine by me. It didn’t look terribly complicated, and both the woman and her husband agreed that it was the most delicious thing in the world.

After the show was over, I went online to look for the recipe but couldn’t find it. I figured maybe I had caught a new episode and the recipes weren’t up yet. Then today I remembered about it, went to look for it again, and found it. Now I intend to see how it turns out. You see, my oven sucks. Real bad. It will burn everything. But I don’t care, it’s worth a try.

Oh, and he’s easy on the eyes and has an australian accent, ladies.

2 Responses

  1. So, you’re going to send a slice northward, right?

  2. I got an apple pie right here waiting for you…

Leave a Reply

