Oh, Brillat Savarin, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

I had my lovely family over last week, and I made dinner for them once (Hey, there were lots of awesome restaurants to sample from!). And I bought this most decadent cheese I’ve had before. Unsurprisingly, they loved it.

Brillat Savarin, the cheese, was named after Jean Anthelme Brillat-Savarin, a man who loved food and adored cheese (“A dessert without cheese is like a beautiful woman with only one eye.”)

It is a triple creme Brie. Words cannot describe how delicious it is. If you can find it, buy it. There’s other triple cremes I haven’t eaten, but if you see any (maybe Explorateur?) I’d recommend giving it a shot. Be warned, it is addictive. And fatty (75% fat). But who cares? This is a delicious luxury one should indulge in once in a while.

Brillat-Savarin was a wiser man than I: “Those persons who suffer from indigestion, or who become drunk, are utterly ignorant of the true principles of eating and drinking.” I still fail to stop eating before I’m too full to move. But I’m trying!

I still have a good chunk of delicious triple creme goodness in the fridge. Thank FSM I ran out of bread. I’d be eating it as we speak (type? read?).

6 Responses

  1. Clearly, you need to go buy some bread. RIGHT NOW. So that I can experience this cheese vicariously through you.

  2. Wonderful. When should AG arrive for her dinner and hot, oh nevermind…

  3. You better hurry. My tasty cheese reserves are near depleted!

    Damn it Lauren, why did I listen to you and go buy some bread?

  4. Because I am wise in all things.

  5. Cheese. Do want.

  6. Lauren is very wise. We will all listen to her. Now can she win me a date with Dr. S. Barak Caine at BU and Harvard?!!!!

    Torteya, you invite AG out to the Island and you won’t be disappointed. Non of the blogger boys are!

Leave a Reply

