You tell me that you’ve heard every sound there is…

I make no secret of my devotion to The Beatles (aka The four greatest specimens our proud species has been able to produce). If you know me (and I’m guessing you do), this comes as no news to you.

For some reason, I always get a little excited when I find that somebody shares a fondness for my mostest favoritest band of all time, I guess it’s just geek nature. Today, while checking out Making Light, I noticed that in their “sidelights” (“links of the moment” kind of section) they had the following:

*You tell me that you’ve got everything you want

If you don’t feel like clicking on a bunch of youtube links, This is the opening line of “And your bird can sing” from the Revolver album. It just happens to be one of my favorite Beatle songs. I love it. A lot. It is awesome. The main (double guitar) riff is beautiful, the magnificent bass line is pure McCartney genius (most underrated bass player, if you ask me), and the lyrics are Lennontastic. Also, it rocks. All those links are various youtube videos of that song (some original, some alternate takes, most are covers).

Extra bit of info: The “You” and “you’ve” links go to the awesometasticular “take 2” tracks (they are different mixes, the former is mostly lead vocals and bass, the latter is a more balanced mix) that can be found in Volume 2 of The Beatles’ Antholody discs. In this take, for reasons unknown (but highly suspected by many to be of cannabical nature), John and Paul can’t stop laughing for most of the song. I honestly have never listened to that take and not give a huge grinn at the very least. Man, I love The Beatles. Probably to an unhealthy degree. But seriously, listen to those tracks and tell me they are not a blast to listen to and make you wish you had been there with them for the recording session.

Oh, they also use a different musical arrangement for those alternate tracks (compare to the last link, which is the released version), it’s more “psychedelic”. It has a really nice 12-string echo’d rythm guitar track that reminds me of “Rain”. I really really really really have a hard time deciding which take I like best. They are both (the “rocking” released one and the “psychedelic” alternate one) amazing. The alternate track also has backing vocals doing a higher harmony that sounds really neat.

Seriously, when you are capable of recording the same song in two equally astonishingly kickass ways, that’s special.

Leave a Reply

